Jun Fose

Jon Fosse


I like to think that my aim for writing plays is to write in a way that makes it possible for these rare strange sudden intensified magical moments that happens in the theatre, when something bigger than life is understood, can occur.  The moments when an angel goes through the stage, as a Hungarian saying goes.

Jon Fosse was born in 1959 in Haugesund in western Norway. His extensive work includes novels, short stories, children’s literature, essays, poetry and plays. He is undoubtedly among the most important Norwegian writers today and is considered the greatest Norwegian playwright after Henrik Ibsen.

Among his most notable works are the novels Melancholy (staged as an opera in Paris in 2008), Morning and Evening (2000), It’s Ales (2004) and Trilogy (2014), then the collection of poetry The Dog and the Angel (1992) and the play The Name (1995) , Child (1997), Day of Summer (1998) and Variations of Death (2002). Plays  Warm (2005), Dream (2005), These Eyes (2009), There (2011) have special place in Fosse’s dramatic work.

He is the recipient of a long series of prestigious awards in Norway as well as in the world, he is the holder of the Norwegian Order of St. Ulav and the French National Order of Merit. Fosse’s works have been translated into over fifty languages, and internationally he is best known for his dramatic work. Fosse’s plays were staged in all European countries, especially in France, Germany and Poland, but also outside Europe, in the USA, Brazil, Australia, China, Japan and Cuba. Fosse is also actively engaged in translation, mainly of dramatic works. He currently resides in an honorary residency for deserving artists in Oslo.

He has won the 2023 Nobel Prize in Literature.


Author: Jon Fosse
Book: Rambuku and Shadows
Translated from Norwegian: Radoš Kosović
Cover design: Dina Radoman